Wonton love

Whenever our family feels like lunching on a bowl of wonton mein, my dad is always quick to suggest Jimmy Chai Kees in Markham. The first time I was there I found it odd that we were seated with other customers that were otherwise strangers to us, and I remember having the impression that people were in and out of that place real quick.

Now, having eaten locally in HK where the tables seat one too many, the chopsticks are green, and the milk tea is to die for, dap-toy (sharing tables) and lightning-speed eating begin to make sense ..

Out of all the extraordinary cuisine you can find in Hong Kong (even in the MTR subway stations!), my friend laughed when I answered that wonton mein was one of the better things I tried in HK. But honestly, those plump shrimp balls are enough to make me return. All that’s left to do is a little comparison back at Jimmy Chai Kees.

The wonton mein see-fu

Leave a Reply

