Jam cookies

So at first I was pretty enthralled by lintzer cookies when I found out that you can combine jam and pastry. There is something that I love about jam, perhaps even more than peanut butter, mostly because it is tart and spreadable, and because it is spreadable, the tartness pops up every bite. But now we are no longer confined to boring bits of toast. Jam in my cookies? I say yes to that.

My dough did not come out as smooth as I think it was meant to, and I ended up adding more butter when needed. I also used strawberry jam; I think the red is classic when you think of jam cookies.

Jam Cookies Recipe from Simone Rugiati and Licia Cagnoni

Makes 20 cookies

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3 hard-boiled egg yolks
  • 1 whole egg
  • a little more than 1/4 cup butter, cut into pieces and softened
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • salt
  • milk
  • strawberry jam
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 lemon, zested

Prep work first. Pass the hard-boiled egg yolks through a sieve and set aside. Mound the flour on a clean work surface, and make a well at the centre. The recipe didn’t ask for this specifically, but based on the picture, I think we’re to layer the egg yolks before combining everything else. As you can tell from my photos, I was having a lot of fun with the eggs.

Place the softened butter in the well, and gradually add sugar, vanilla, lemon zest, whole egg, and a pinch of salt. Get right in there with you fingers — no beaters are called for at all. I found that it was hard to incorporate my dry and wet(ish) ingredients, so ended up folding the dry flour into the well.

Wrap the dough in plastic wrap and let it rest in the refrigerator for 30 minutes. Meanwhile, preheat the oven to 325ºF.

Roll out the dough into a thin sheet. You’ll need round cookie cutters of two sizes: one for the cookie shape and another to make a hole for the jam filling. Use the round cookie cutter to cut out as many rounds as possible. Using the smaller cookie cutter, remove the centres from half of the rounds to form tops.

Place a top on each base and fill the centres with jam. Transfer cookies to a baking sheet, and brush the tops with a bit of milk. Let it bake for 12 minutes. or until you see the bottom edge begin to brown.

And there you go!

Leave a Reply

