New stumble at the library

This morning I left the house in an excited state for an interview, and took the bus back home one note higher than when I left it (score! I got the job!)

But when I arrived at the door, a thrashing through my oversized purse told me that the key was inside the house. What normally would have felt like embarrassment and chagrin could not even wash over this good day starting well, so I took a long walk, and to no one’s surprise, ended up at the library as I waited to have lunch with my mom in her rescue car.

On the shelf that I like to call the New Releases, stood Molly Wizenberg‘s first book, “A Homemade Life: Stories and Recipes from My Kitchen Table”. If her name doesn’t ring a bell, perhaps her blog will: Orangette. (Hey, it even has a skybar image like my own food blog! But this is no time to steal the limelight.) What is unique about Orangette is that although it has gained worldwide readership, Molly still makes several plugs for independent artists in her Seattle neighbourhood.

Back in the library and plopped onto a comfy couch, I opened the book mid-section and was whisked away to France, where she spent a year on exchange and fell in love with simple yet tantalizing dishes her host mother made like galette de rois, bouchon au thons, and cubed beet salad with vinaigrette.  Amazed and inspired by her short chapters, I was one step too short of signing out her book (a girl’s gotta have her priorities with three other titles I need finish!) but did scribble down her recipe for coconut macaroons with chocolate ganache.

Curious about the humble ascent from academia to authorship to an award-winning food blog, I also found an interview with her conducted by UK Times Online. And in the same newspaper, Molly comments on food blogging:

“Blogs are like sitting down in the kitchen with someone, only that kitchen is on a computer screen. Cookbooks, by comparison, are a sort of one-way street. Most of us who love to cook and eat also love, I think, to talk about cooking and eating, and blogs are an ideal space for that. I can’t think of a better way to share my love of food, and to (hopefully) inspire other people to get into the kitchen, too.”

Speaking of sharing food, I snapped the book shut, returned it on its special shelf for another happy discovery, and went to lunch with my mom.

Leave a Reply

