Monday Night Meatballs

Every Monday night it’s just my dad and I at home because my mom’s out at a Bible study. I have to admit that I get bored of Chinese food and rice (gasp!) so I’ve been exploring Italian flavours on Mondays when I am chef. I love the strong aromas and colours, and thankfully my dad is not the Chinese father who requires soup and rice every night. So far, I’ve experimented capers, cream sauce, and have been tweaking a homemade tomato sauce so I can wean off of the can.

Last week I started with a pound of lean ground beef. I remember that I was having a tough day, and taking it out on the cooking .. what was supposed to be simple spaghetti with meatsauce became Rachael-Ray inspired meatballs. And when I say Rachael Ray meatballs, I’m talking about the ones the size of your fist. Big and American. (I don’t particularly like Rachel Ray’s show because I find her kind of abrasive, but she does know how to cook beefy meals.)

Well, I was running out of time Monday night so didn’t take any pictures, but the meatballs turned out pretty well! It’s pretty easy to make actually, and the only “special ingredient” you need are breadcrumbs.

Baked Meatball Standard Recipe (of any size – just up the cooking time for the bigger ones)

  • 1 lb lean ground beef
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup bread crumbs
  • salt and pepper
  • oregano
  • Worcestershire sauce
  • ketchup
  1. Preheat the oven 325ºF, line a baking pan with foil, and whisk the egg
  2. Mix all the ingredients together, adding the bread crumbs at the end.
  3. Form the meatballs and bake for 20-25 minutes. Check the doneness by cutting through to the centre.
  4. Toss them in with your spaghetti sauce.
Leave a Reply

