Lazy pasta dinner

I came into this weekend with the pursuit of happiness. To that end, Saturday was one big checkmark. I spent the better part of the morning with a good friend of mine, and when she took the 3pm train home, I decided to make the most of my day pass and hang around downtown.

Oh Toronto. Every time I think I know you, there is another neighbourhood, another shop, another gallery that I want to check out. Maybe this is what they mean when they say Toronto the  Great. Insurmountable city of exploration.

After a sun-drenched afternoon at Harbourfront with Isabel Dalhousie (book one of my summer series reading), I headed home with a hunger egging on my stomach. Or maybe it’s egging on my imagination. Which is always a fun place to start because when cravings come, no recipe is required. The unnameable craving was getting louder the longer I was sitting on my northbound commute. Cheese, I decided! Pasta with cheese.

One time I did try to homemade mac and cheese. My sister and I used to microwave shredded cheese on cooked pasta when we were really lazy. And though I was not going to make anything elaborate, I felt like I had graduated from my microwave-cooking days.

Basically this was all I did:

  1. Boil the pasta.
  2. Cut up the vegetables available in your fridge (woot, there’s broccoli!)
  3. Add vegetables to boiling pot when the pasta is mostly done.
  4. Drain both.
  5. Use the pot to make the sauce: olive oil, milk. Let it boil.
  6. Add shredded cheese. Stir until melted. Season with salt and pepper.
  7. Add the pasta and veg to the melted cheese.

To get an idea for how to make cheese sauce, I did glance at a recipe while the pasta was boiling, and was missing flour and butter. But this is a lazy recipe, so I reserved the pasta water hoping the starch from the pasta would suffice for flour. Um.. it didn’t.

End product? As you can tell from the picture, I couldn’t quite get the cheese sauce saucy enough. The cheese tended to clump around the broccoli, leaving the pasta pretty bald. But the craving gave way to sheer hunger. To which I was happy enough to have something hearty to shovel into my moaning stomach. On the patio (even though it started to get stormy so that the wind was flipping my pages.)

Lazy cooking without a recipe. Pretty relaxing if you have a forgiving dish to work with. Or you’re cooking for yourself. When has it worked for you?

3 Responses to “Lazy pasta dinner”

  1. I love this blog.
    and I miss you. xoxox

  2. I love your description of Toronto, and your passion for exploration! Harbourfront is beautiful :) haha and that’s a great looking meal for a “lazy” dinner! HAHA our lazy pasta was once just putting italian dressing on leftover rotini, and it tasted excellent ;) And if you’ve got some sausage nearby to throw in… all the better :D

    • Thanks Hannah, Liz!

      Haha, lazy as in .. cook as we go along. No recipe, just throwing stuff in on a whim :)

      I love Harbourfront. Especially in the summer – when the dogs come out.

Leave a Reply

