Back to the Basics

At a time when a new season begins – school, work, even TV programs – there’s a lot of recycled excitement that goes around when people get ready. Last weekend when I took a walk, there were dozens in our neighbourhood who were lugging summer refuse from their house onto the curb: lawn chairs, broken dressers, grills and faded fuzzy stuffed toys – okay that was just the one. Everyone knows about spring cleaning, but this wipe-out in the autumn is somehow more pronounced when you see the things you’ve just used last week waiting to be picked up as trash.

I’m having a bit of a cleaning-out myself. But the thing is, I’m not really sure what I’m making room for. Yet. This blog, you see, has reached roughly one year old. And I’ve enjoyed it. In fact I relish in cooking, taking photos, and then writing about it. But because I do favour seasonality, I find myself running into similar recipes, the same ingredients, and the threat (gasp!) of boring you, my dear readers. I’m not a person of novelty; I can be quite fiercely loyal when I’ve found a good thing.

So here’s the deal. In the spirit of recycled excitement, year two might look a lot like the first one ’round. Just the other day I was looking at gorgeous pictures of club variety apples in the new LCBO Food & Drink magazine, and had a sudden strong urge to drive back to the apple orchardmy dad and I visited last year. I love apples with all my appetite, and find their marbled colour and texture fascinating. Plus, a trip back from the orchard means you have lots of material to work with, meaning lots of recipe variations! But, the self-critic in me protested, you can’t write about that – you already talked about it last year! Yes, true. But if you can’t write about things you believe in, things that are good, things you love – even if they’ve appeared before – then what else would you write about? If there’s one thing I’ve learned about writing, it’s to write what you know and love.

That being said, returning to the things I know are good doesn’t mean complete duplication. Hopefully what you’ll know about me by now is that I like to give classics a twist, like this mascarpone-stuffed French toast. Same basic ingredients, but a nice guest appearance slid in the middle.

So I’m ready for another year of improvement, refining what I’ve done, and bringing you the better end of it. Right here. Come back soon!

Mascarpone-stuffed French toast

  • 2 slices of your favourite breakfast toast
  • 1 egg
  • a splash of milk
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 2 tbsp mascarpone cheese
  • honey
  1. Prepare an egg batter as you would for regular French toast: beat an egg and whisk in milk. My sister and I like to sneak in some extra flavour by adding cinnamon and sugar to the egg batter.
  2. In a small bowl, combine honey and mascarpone cheese. Spread the mixture onto your pieces of bread, and fold together like a sandwich.
  3. Coat the stuffed toast in the egg batter, and let it fry at medium-high heat until you see both sides browning.
  4. Serve immediately with a drizzle of honey on top, and some sliced fruit and nuts.
Leave a Reply

