Poached plums with ice-cream

September – where did the month go? I had good intentions of visiting an apple orchard, volunteering, and picking up my own 50mm f1.2 lens after running around with one on loan from my pal Dave during the half of the summer. Of this list, I did one. Volunteering during a family festival at The Stop Community Food Centre was when I learned the name of those Chinese lantern-looking cherries (aka ground cherries), met a hand-sized piglet, and even saw the Food Jammers in apple-pressing action (squeezing out cidar, of course!) I hope to come back again in the future. The Stop does such amazing things with sharing food and I’ve only spent one day with the people involved there.

Another thing I meant to do in September was bake fruits in season. Which is half-accomplished with these blue plums. See, I bought the basket thinking what a great thing it is to support Ontario growers, but then realized they were just as sour a week later as the day I picked them up. Does disliking the seasonal fruit count? Well, I don’t really like plums when they’re sour. However, I came across this recipe that stews the plums, doing the clever thing of disguising any sour taste without overpowering its natural flavour. Far more than that – this recipe compliments the fruit with an earthy syrup that reminds you of the season it came from.

It’s also a very simple recipe to make but looks classy. I made this at the end of a birthday dinner for my dad, and he said it reminded him of a dessert on a cruise boat! High praise for a sour fruit.

Poached plums, waffles and ice cream Adapted from Food & Drink, Autumn 2010

Serves 3

  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 tsp grated nutmeg
  • 2-inch piece lemon peel
  • 8 blue plums, halved and pitted
  • 6 waffle wafers (found at Italian specialty stores)
  • vanilla ice-cream
  1. In a small pot, combine sugar, water, spices and lemon peel. Bring to a boil over high heat and boil for 3 minutes.
  2. Turn heat to low, and add plums to simmering syrup and poach until tender, about 10 minutes. Let plums cool in syrup. It thickens as it cools.
  3. Place a waffle on a serving plate, top with a scoop of ice cream and spoon plums around. Finish by crumbling some more wafers if you like, and drizzle with syrup.
Leave a Reply

