Quesadillas for Lunch

Hello again!

I know there’s been a long absence from writing here, but I’m happy to have something cooking up this time again. And this time, it might just show some sort of growing up. The thing with bringing your lunch to the office is that it exists with other office lunches. In the fridge, at your desk, opened up among not just your colleagues’ field of vision, but temptingly compared to what they’ve b(r)ought. I told myself that I’d only allow one lunch purchase a week, and when my same cheese sandwich started to look dull and juvenile, I found myself breaking my once-a-week rule.

Until I went into Pusateri’s.

“Pusateri’s? But isn’t that just an expensive grocery store? What kind of budgeting logic is that?” In my experience, the logic makes comes after a good bit of researching. So I was researching at Pusateri’s.

Lingering over their prepared meals, I peered at the inners of that giant Superbowl sandwich – cucumbers, fried onions, sliced roasted beef, pickles. All on a massive loaf of bread. For sure something tasty to sink teeth into .. but maybe not the best office etiquette. Wraps. Roti, sun-dried tomatoes, lentils, okay, I get it – vegetarian. Pizzas, small, big, slab, thin. Personally, I like to buy my pizza because I know I wouldn’t be able to replicate the crust or put together all the ingredients and the Italians know how to do whatever magic it is they do.

So in the end of this tantalizing research trip, the verdict was a toss-up between two choices (indecisive me, what else is new?) Wraps and quesadillas. Essentially, they use the exact same ingredients but you can eat it in two different ways!

Ingredients

  • tortilla wraps (even though mine is “spinach” it still tastes the same as all the others .. sort of like Fruit Loops)
  • chopped red peppers
  • chopped tomatoes
  • shredded cheese
  • beans (black or kidney)
  • coarsely chopped cilantro
  • salsa

Preparation

  • It’s super easy. No lie.
  • I decided to use beans to change things up. To keep things properly fragrant around my area, I decided to cook the beans to get rid of any funny uncooked elements that would make it very obvious that I had beans for lunch.
  • Cook the beans and chopped tomates in a pot over medium-high heat. For 5-10 minutes, but not so long that it gets too mushy.
  • Let it cool.
  • Assemble your quesadilla: spread the salsa on the tortilla, top with chopped vegetables (I know you’re not supposed to use lettuce in quesadillas, but I threw some in just because I like it), bean mixture, and top it with cheese. There’s a reason the cheese comes last. Add the last tortilla.
  • Turn on the grill (or George Foreman for easy-peasy grill marks).
  • When grill is hot, put your quesadilla inside and let it grill for 5-8 minutes, or until the edges are crispy.
  • Use a very sharp knife to slice your quesadilla – that way the inners won’t come out in a mess at the seams. Notice how the quesadilla is not falling apart either? That’s partly thanks to having the cheese topped at the end, because it acts like glue between the filling and the tortilla.

Serve or pack away for lunch tomorrow! A tip is to pack it in a contained that allows you to cut inside of it. I noticed that when I was eating my quesadilla, it was a bit soggy to be picking up like you would in a restaurant. So bring a fork and knife too!

Leave a Reply

