Are you happy now?

It’s sunny on a Saturday morning and I’m in a pensive mood that brings my thoughts to a well-lit window.

Sometimes I also journal and write about non-food related things, and this morning was one of those occasions. This week I’ve been thinking about whether thankfulness and contentment were the same thing. Then I realized that no, they may not be because if you are thankful you may still be envious of all those folks on greener pastures and lose sight of why you were thankful for your lot today.

Think about it this way. When someone says, “I’m stuffed!” after a meal, is that considered being content? Or is their stomach merely satisfied for the time being, only to rumble for more in a few hours? Can you be content and still want more?

This blog is also a way I strive to perceive and create food with simplicity. And a lot of times we see food movements that drive us towards simplicity, natural ingredients and a slower preparation process. Hats off to those who make the time and show dedication to this quality of process. But I’m still scratching my head: does simplicity makes contentment more achievable? 

Take the rambling path through my thoughts with me?

  • If I could live with one thing, what would it be? Why?
  • Food. Because it is physically nourishing and comforting.
  • What does simplicity mean to me? Am I practising this currently?
  • Sometimes I think I am living simply: I pride myself in not buying a lot of things or hoarding. I try to be generous. Then I realize that it’s just a list of virtues I link with the idea of a noble life of minimalism. Smallest ecological footprint ever. And then I manage to live this way for about a week until I see something nice at Anthropologie or window-shopping on my lunch and before I know it, I’ve tried the dress on and bought it in my size. So much goes for simplicity! As long as simplicity is a moral battle to spend as little as possible and be happy with it, I’ll be as stable as a swinging pendulum.
  • Then what is achievable simplicity? Is it contentment? How do you become content? Often I find that happiness is seldom a isolated thing. Even if it is generated by an independent action — like reading under the shade of a tree — I will no doubt take a picture of the tree and post it. And then somehow Tweet about this sensational experience in 140 characters or less (in fact, I already did). And if the weather permits a repeated occurrence, I’ll probably invite my friends to the park.
  • All that being said, I don’t think it is the act of sharing that breeds contentent. The mutual agreement that Yes, this is a beautiful and simply satisfying thing here affirms my idea of noble simplicity. And sure, there’s absolutely nothing wrong with sharing a good thing. Isn’t that why we cook for others?

Honestly, I’m not sure how to conclude this post. Actually, people spend their whole lives trying to settle with contentment. So let this be another piece to the puzzle, if you will. And in the meantime, sharing your ideas over a good meal isn’t a bad way to figure it out either …

Leave a Reply

