Zucchini Pie for a Picnic

“I’m going to a picnic and I’m bringing … apple pie. What are you bringing?”

 

“I’m going to a picnic and I’m brining bananas!”

 

“Sorry, you can’t bring bananas to the picnic.”

 

“Banana pie?”

 

“Nope.”

 

“I’m going to a picnic and I’m bringing an umbrella.”

 

“Okay, sure. You can come.”

 

“How come my bananas aren’t good enough and his umbrella isn’t even edible? What kind of picnic is this?”

 

Have you ever played this game? It used to madden me why all my offered items were never accepted: ice-cream, watermelon, even a picnic basket. I was first introduced to this game at camp in my pig-tailed, fabric-painted canvas-shoe wearing self. When I eventually caught on to what were acceptable things to bring to the picnic, things like blueberries, noodles, beef, doormats, and balloons, it seemed so hard to merely have your RSVP accepted that I decided I liked real life picnics much better.

 

Luckily in real life, usually whatever you bring to a picnic is seldom denied. So, what will you bring?

 

I find two things really handy to keep in mind when prepping for a picnic: making it ahead of time, and portability. I came across this zucchini pie recipe that has both of those elements, and it’s super easy to make. It’s also gluten-free, which apparently, is food you can also bring to that puzzling picnic too.

 

Zucchini Pie, recipe adapted from Serious Eats

 

  • 2 medium zucchini, thinly sliced crosswise
  • 8 eggs
  • 2 tablespoons milk
  • 1/4 cup shredded cheese of your liking
  • 1/2 medium red onion, diced
  • 2 small cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/4 cup thyme, or 1/2 cup of fresh herbs
  • salt and pepper
  • Preheat the oven to 350°C, and lightly grease a pie dish.
  • Combine the eggs, milk, and cheese, and blend well. Set aside.
  • Bring a frying pan to high heat, and brown the onions and garlic. Remember to season with salt! Set aside, and cook the zucchini until translucent, seasoning both sides with salt, pepper and thyme. Incorporate the onions and garlic with the zucchini, and turn down the heat.
  • Pour half of the egg mixture into the prepared pie dish. Layer on the zucchini, spreading evenly. Reserve eight or ten slices. Pour the rest of the egg mixture. Place the remaining zucchini on top so that it bakes as a decoration.
  • Slide the pie dish into the oven and let it bake for 15 minutes, or until the eggs are firm.

 

If you’re making this ahead, just put some aluminium foil over top until it’s ready to be eaten. It can also be eaten cold.

 

Oh, and the best part? Yes, you can bring zucchini pie to the picnic — so leave your bananas at home and come on out!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

