Sweet nectar of Bavaria!

Bavarian Food Tasting Tour, part 3

Do you remember the first time you had chocolate? I really don’t know if my first memory of chocolate is the first time I ate it, but it was in the cinema with my cousins. We were watching Lion King, and they had snuck in a full Skor bar, which I thought was deliciously devious since I had never been allowed to eat a whole candy bar, and they brought in food that wasn’t purchased at the cinema concession. Devious or not, I enjoyed that Skor bar so much that I missed the beginning of Lion King because I was making sure I wouldn’t miss to any remnants of chocolate on my wrapper. Hey, it’s low visibility in a cinema. You gotta concentrate in such strenuous conditions.

Now how about honey? To me, honey is like the sweet treat taken for granted because it’s so pure and unadulterated. Unlike chocolate that easily grabs our attention with fancy shiny wrappings, honey drips from a tree waiting to be collected. In this third and last part of the Bavarian Food Tasting tour, tasting honey from the Bavarian forest was like a Skor-in-the-cinema experience. Make sure you’ve got every good golden drop!

Killian brought us to a standing table on the edge of Viktualienmarkt where the vendor Honighäusel stood. We sipped honey wine and I thought of all  my girlfriends who prefer cocktails to beer or wine because “it tastes better”. Made with honey and water and fermented overtime, this natural nectar of the Bavarian forest becomes what I think my friends would prefer to white or red. It’s a dessert drink taken chilled or warmed, Killian explains, and later on I pick up a few liquors and schnapps to bring home and treat my dinner guests with. The liquid is clear and uncomplicated, just like how you’d imagine honey and water to be pure and simple, and smooth to swallow. A fun addition to the drink was a cup of gummy honey bears. Another cousin memory comes to mind, when we guillotined, maimed and finally devoured our Teddy Bears until there were no survivors. Whoever thought to form food into bear shapes should have an amusement park named after them or something because they are so much fun to eat!

Stuffed with a hearty brunch, various market offerings and a sweet drink to aid the stomach, I was just about ready to pack up the lunch after this last course. Killian and I bid adieu, but I lingered at the standing table to take in all the Bavarian samples I had eaten. If there’s one thing I’ve learned from travelling it’s that people are proud of their food. Whatever the interpretation of history and culture, and however conflicted or homogenized they are, there’s a timeless passion that a nation can agree on when you set them before them a traditional plate or ask about their kitchens. Food is not only a way to experience a culture, but a way to share its very best.

Leave a Reply

